Office of the prime minister

The Prime Minister and National Executive Council Act 2002 mandates the Department to coordinate policy advice, monitor government policy actions, and facilitate policy implementation to serve the Prime Minister and service NEC through Central Agencies Coordinating Committee (CACC) and the National Security Council (NSC) through the National Security Advisory Committee (NSAC) respectively.

The Prime Minister & NEC Act 2002 clearly articulates the functions of the Department of Prime Minister & NEC. The functions are further elaborated in the Department’s Corporate Plan 2019 – 2022 and aligned consistently with the current National Strategic Development Plans that have been implemented over the years by successive governments.

In 2016, the Department of Personnel Management approved a restructure of the Department of Prime Minister and NEC to better align with our national development plans and the day-today business of the Government. The Department’s restructure in 2016 were divided into three Wings, and adopted sectoral approach model [refer to the ‘Functional Structure in Appendix 5] to achieve 30 KRAs and 359 KPIs in conformance to Key Deliverable Outputs and Policy Outcomes to achieve:

  1. effectiveness in policy advice, policy coordination, policy monitoring and reporting; and
  1. efficiency in the performance management standards of programs and plans.

This resulted in the Department being more strategically positioned to provide policy advice and support to the Government in pursuit of the desired outcomes of the National Development Plans: Vision 2050; Development Strategic Plan (DSP) 2010-2030; National Strategy for Responsible Sustainable Development (STaRS); and the Medium-Term Development Plans. As stated in the Medium-Term Development Plan III (MTDP III, 2018-2022), the Government prior to the 2017 National General Elections had 78 key national priorities agreed to in the Alotau Accord I to implement. 

These priorities were all within the framework of the overarching plans of Vision 2050 and STaRS. Sixteen critical areas under the priorities were identified with targets to achieve by 2017-2018. To realize the achievements, the Government was supported by the Department of Prime Minister & NEC through its sectoral approach functions of coordination, monitoring, evaluation, performance management standards and reporting as well as mechanisms such as the Central Agencies Coordinating Committee (CACC) and the Annual Leaders’ Summit. 

In addition to the above critical areas, there are now 84 specific sector priorities that the Government envisions to accomplish. These are contained in the Alotau Accord II. The Department structure now aligns with these priorities as well as with the national strategic plans.

     Department of Prime Minister and National Executive Council | © 2022.